13 Reasons Why.

Uncategorized

I had came across 13RW on Netflix, but wasn’t phased by it whatsoever.. until I was constantly seeing tweets about it. Alex this, Hannah that, oh but Clay, how could Bryce.. I became intrigued, what was so fascinating about these characters?

So, I started it. I had wanted to read the book two years ago, not a real urge but I had been interested in the story line of the book. So there I was wishing I had read the book but instead was watching the TV series.

I feel like I have so much to say, in such little time, to such a small audience, so I’ll keep it short.

Suicide, depression, anxiety, rape, sexual consent, sexual abuse, bullying, loneliness. These are all involved in 13RW. I found myself looking and questioning myself on my own situations, other peoples situations, wondering about their story, wondering if they cared about my story, thinking about how a passing comment I have ever made would have imprinted on someones mind and body.

I fell in love with Clay, almost instantly. (I have a thing about falling in love with characters, mainly characters that come from a book authors mind. I feel a connection with them. I sympathise with them. I am with them through the journey.)

See, the thing about 13RW; it portrays to us what happens in high school, how high school experiences can have such an impact on one persons life, how each person has their own story. I have learned something so important watching 13RW. There is always a story between people but the reason each story end’s up being slightly different is because “it’s their truth”. And because of this, they aren’t wrong (unless they are completely lying, then well, yes they’re wrong)

I wish I could go in-depth about how 13RW made me feel. How Hannah made me feel. How I fell lost with Clay. How betrayed I felt by Justin. How sorry I felt with Alex. Each character I shared an emotion.

One of the scene’s Clay’s old friend (I forgot her name) said something a long the lines of people who commit suicide are weak. That sentence angered me, it broke me. People who commit suicide are not weak. Those who commit suicide are those who feel there is no other way out, they want peace, they want the pain to end, they are numb. Their way out it is ending it all. To come to the conclusion of taking your own life takes the world of bravery. Please understand I am not approving suicide, I am simply asking that you do not call those who have committed suicide weak. You do not know their story,  their pain, their reasons etc. Be mindful of your words. They are in a battle with themselves and the world.

13RW is a series I believe everyone should watch. It explains suicide, depression and anxiety in such a different outlook. As to what each character played part in someone taking their life, as to what comments, what actions can have such an impact on someone. How being there for someone as a friend can go a long way. Season 1 is now finished and I am heartbroken with the last episode. There are scenes that I would of loved to change, certain things I did not agree with. I wish I could state and go in-depth as to what I would of changed, but I don’t want to give any spoilers for those may be wishing to watch it or are currently watching it.But all in all it is a great TV series, I wish I could compare it to the book but I can’t.

I hope that anyone who reads this and has any feeling about the post, good or bad will know they can send me a message and express themselves. To those who feel like they don’t have anyone, you have me. You are not alone as much as you may feel it, you have a friend in me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

